Why all the hate?

I finally got around to watching Terminator Salvation. From listening to everything that i’d previously heard about the movie, i wasn’t expecting much. Especially after the much publicized Christian Bale rant. I definitely thought that his actions would make me feel very negative towards him.

So first of all. I like the movie. I don’t know if anything will surpass T2, but for me, Salvation is now my second favorite terminator movie, with T3 bringing up the rear (I really didn’t like that one). I thought the effects were awesome, and some of the long shots were really cool and well thought out.

I didn’t mind Christian Bale that much either. Although he will never again rank very high on lists of actors that i like, he will be in the select group of actors who i like watching onscreen, but that’s about it. Tom Cruise is one of those.

As far as the soundtrack goes, I’ve had the score since it came out, so i knew what to expect. I like it, there’s no doubt about that. My Danny Elfman playlist is getting really long. I really liked the tie in of the previous terminator theme, and the combination of electronics and acoustic instruments. At times, it seemed reminiscent, if not a watered-down version, of Batman. The thick brass is very enjoyable, especially when he has a great string line to accompany it. Also, I’m always a sucker for huge percussion sounds. Elfman does a really good job at times of matching the brass to some of the sound design in the movie used for the harvester (a sound that is very similar to the alien ships in Spielberg’s War of the Worlds.) The score is good, but not my favorite Elfman score.

The wife and I finished Battlestar Galactica. Loved it! For me, the fourth and last season began a little slowly. There seemed to be a lot of exposition, and for some reason I was in the mood for some badass cylon human interaction. My patience was definately rewarded at the end of the season. I don’t want to write any spoilers here, but needless to say, it was huge!

I thought that Bear McCreary did a really good job of keeping a very tight sonic world for Battlestar, including little things that Gibbs did for the miniseries. There was really only one thing that i didn’t care for, and the was the guitar sound in a couple episodes, where it had a lot of chorus, reverb, and delay. He used guitar in other spots, but it was more distorted and really fit well into what he was building. For instance at the end of season 3 (All along the watchtower) was the song, and i thought he built it up beautifully with the heavy percussion. In fact one of my favorite cues was called “heeding the call”. It has very many levels and really rockin’ feel to it.

So now with BSG completed, here is my watch list (including shows that start in the spring):

  • Sunday – Dexter, Bored to Death, Mad Men
  • Monday – 24, Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Lie to Me, House, Castle
  • Tuesday – V
  • Wednesday – Lost, Glee, Friday Night Lights
  • Thursday – Bones, Fringe, 30 Rock, Community, Parks and Recreation, Flash Forward
  • Friday – Stargate Universe

It seems like a lot… and it is, but I haven’t started school yet. I may have to reassess… and take less credits. HA!

One response to “Why all the hate?

  1. Loved the end of Battlestar and loved that music in and of itself played an important role in the climax of things. Cannot wait for Dexter (John Lithgow!!) and am still waiting for Netflix to get me the first season of Fringe so I can jump into this season…grr… Oh, and Glee is loads of fun, but only because it brings back oh so many HS memories (and is pretty damn cruel and funny at times).

    Like

Leave a Reply

