The end draws nigh

One more day of class, a take home final… and the last (hopefully) fall term of my BM in Composition will be complete. I’m greatly looking forward to the coming christmas break, however I can’t speak to what kind of break it’ll be, which leads me to my bit of news for the day…

I have been chosen as 1 of 4 finalists for the PSU composition competition. This honor requires me to write a four minute piece for the New Music Ensemble at PSU. The ensemble includes:

  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet
  • Bassoon
  • String Quintet
  • 1 Percussionist
  • Piano

On occasion, this ensemble also has brass, but not this year. Anyways, I have to have a rough draft composed by the first day of winter term (Jan. 3rd). Which leaves me with roughly three weeks, as I will be spending a week in Florida with the family for Christmas.

In related news, I’m nearly finished with my Sonata for Clarinet and Marimba.

So, other than these things, I must say that I’m very excited for a couple movies appearing in theaters soon, namely Avatar, and Sherlock Holmes. Funny thing while I was reading about Avatar and the relationship that James Horner (the composer) shares with James Cameron (the director) is that after Aliens, Horner said he would never work with Cameron again. This might be common knowledge to some of my friends, but I just read that Horner was brought on to Aliens with only three and a half weeks to compose 80 minutes of music for the movie… Geez, maybe I shouldn’t feel overwhelmed having to write four minutes in three weeks.

So I leave you now, to go about on your own while pondering this youtube short film (which is pretty frakkin’ awesome!):

2 responses to “The end draws nigh

  1. It’s been said that time heals all wounds. Regarding the Jims (Cameron and Horner), Oscars for each tend to function the same way.

    The worst part about the fact that Horner wrote all that music for Aliens is that only about 30% of it wound up in the film and even less in the place it was intended.

    I will say that I’m very curious about Horner’s score for Avatar. He’s had pretty much the entire year to tweak and compose. He damned well better have come up with something good!

    Like

  2. Oh, and congrats on being chosen as a finalist for your composition contest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

