This isn't the time to diet

Christmas is fast approaching, and it’s almost time to break out the stretchy denim. The snacks began to flow this last weekend when Ruth and I made up a batch of puppy chow, caramel corn, and chex mix. Oh man… so good. It will serve as some really good comfort food now that I’ve finally finished with my sonata and am beginning work on my chamber orchestra piece.

Speaking of which, we had to find a line from a poem that we could use as inspiration, or as a characterization of our piece. After thinging about my different options, I decided that I wanted to use a quote from HP Lovecraft. The quote that I settled on was:

“I was far from home, and the spell of the eastern sea was upon me.”

Lovecraft runner-ups were:

“But more wonderful than the lore of old men and the lore of books is the secret lore of ocean.”

Their outlines were human, semi-human, fractionally human, and not human at all — the horde was grotesquely heterogeneous.”

“The only saving grace of the present is that it’s too damned stupid to question the past very closely.”

“So, Atal said, it would be much better to let all gods alone except in tactful prayers.”

“He enjoys life — as do all who are spared the curse of intelligence.”

“I fear my enthusiasm flags when real work is demanded of me.”

That last is a little too close to reality for me, but hilarious none-the-less. And the honorable mention from one Stephen King:

“I can’t go out no more. There’s a man by the door in a raincoat”

I finally saw Zombieland, and I have to say that it was very enjoyable, and the slow motion sequence during the opening credits is pretty freakin’ epic!

And soon, I’ll get to go see Avatar, and Sherlock Holmes. Woot!

Leave a Reply

