A Composer's Union

This is such an interesting article about the oversupply of composers in the marketplace. If you have them time, I would recommend reading it (especially the comment section).

Personally, I think that it is who you know, but I also think that cream rises to the top. How do you feel about it?

As for a composers union, I believe I would vote no.

3 responses to “A Composer's Union

  1. I’m pretty much of the same mind. Yes, there’s an oversupply. Music isn’t the only aspect of films that has been revolutionized due to the advent of cheap technology. Filmmaking itself has experienced this as well. Anyone thinks that they can pick up a camera and that automatically makes them a filmmaker. Wrong. I actually lost a potentially good gig once because the director (who had almost no musical training whatsoever) wanted to write the score himself on his Casio digital keyboard. I made sure he wasn’t looking when I rolled my eyes.

    Just because you can get digital filmmaking gear cheap doesn’t make you a filmmaker. Just because you can get animation software cheap doesn’t make you an animator; and just because you can get music production software cheap doesn’t make you a composer.

    Like

  2. I’ve been witness to that brand of thinking at film school here for quite some time. The kids think that just because they can afford a camera and an edit program that makes them a filmmaker. Happy to say, though, that those kids usually flame out and end up going nowhere. There has to be some talent there or no one is going to want to watch your films (or listen to your music). At first it bothered me, but when I realized that usually the cream does rise to the top, I stopped sweating it. Not to say I’m overjoyed by the amount of would-be directors, writers, and editors out there that I may be competing with, but I feel secure enough in my skills to hold my own. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to kick some kids off my lawn. Grr…

    Like

  3. I agree with the person above… there has to be some talent.

    With the over saturation of the market producers, directors etc – will probably get a wrong impression of what it takes to actually write music. If they feel any schlub with high tech gear can crank out a “score” from their bedroom, then the standard of product declines and eventually the art. It becomes an exponential process, and a depressing one at that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

